Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
FreeAgent is UK-only accounting that files the self assessment and VAT return straight to HMRC, at £33 a month unless you bank with NatWest, Royal Bank of Scotland, Ulster Bank or Mettle, where it is free. Wave is free bookkeeping and invoicing for anyone, in any country, with a $19-a-month Pro tier for automation and receipt scanning. The choice turns on jurisdiction, not price: one files a UK return and nothing else matters if you are outside the UK, the other has no filing feature at all.
FreeAgent | Wave | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $33 | From $19 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 30 days | None |
Accounting built around UK sole traders
FreeAgent covers invoices, expenses, VAT returns and the self assessment filing a UK sole trader has to do anyway, and it files them with HMRC directly. Bank feeds and receipt capture keep the bookkeeping from piling up into an annual weekend of dread. It is UK-only, so it is no use to anybody filing anywhere else.
Our note
The bank-account route is worth checking before paying. If you already bank with NatWest or hold a Mettle account, this is a full accounting package for nothing, and it is the only offer of that shape in the category.
Invoicing and bookkeeping that costs nothing
Wave does invoices, receipts and double-entry bookkeeping for free, and earns on card payments and on a paid tier that automates the parts you would otherwise do by hand. For a sole trader sending a dozen invoices a year it is the cheapest honest answer. Payroll and the advisor service exist in some countries only, which is worth checking before a whole tax year lives in it.
Our note
Pick FreeAgent if you are a UK sole trader or small limited company and want VAT and self assessment filed straight to HMRC from the same app that does the bookkeeping. £33 a month is the sticker price, but banking with NatWest, Royal Bank of Scotland, Ulster Bank or Mettle makes it free for as long as you hold the account, worth checking before you pay anything.
Pick Wave if you are outside the UK or do not need HMRC filing at all. Starter is free with no invoice cap and no time limit, real double-entry bookkeeping rather than a stripped demo, and Pro at $19 a month adds automation and receipt scanning once the free plan starts to feel manual. Confirm payroll support for your country before relying on it beyond invoicing.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API | Yes | Not stated |
|---|
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Free accounting that is genuinely accounting, which is rare enough to be worth the check it needs: confirm that payments and payroll are supported where you live before a tax year is built on it.