Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
FreeAgent is built around UK tax law specifically, filing self assessment and MTD VAT returns straight to HMRC, at £33 a month unless you bank with NatWest, Royal Bank of Scotland, Ulster Bank or Mettle, in which case it is free for as long as you hold the account. FreshBooks is invoicing-first and geography-agnostic, with no free tier, starting at $23 a month for five billable clients after a 30-day trial. FreeAgent only makes sense inside the UK; FreshBooks does not care where you file.
Accounting built around UK sole traders
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
FreeAgent | FreshBooks | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $33 | From $23 |
| Pricing model | Free trial, then paid | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 30 days | 30 days |
| API | Yes |
Accounting built around UK sole traders
FreeAgent covers invoices, expenses, VAT returns and the self assessment filing a UK sole trader has to do anyway, and it files them with HMRC directly. Bank feeds and receipt capture keep the bookkeeping from piling up into an annual weekend of dread. It is UK-only, so it is no use to anybody filing anywhere else.
Our note
The bank-account route is worth checking before paying. If you already bank with NatWest or hold a Mettle account, this is a full accounting package for nothing, and it is the only offer of that shape in the category.
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
FreshBooks is double-entry accounting wearing a friendly invoice app, which is the right shape for somebody who bills a handful of clients and dreads January. Time tracking and expenses feed the invoice directly. Client limits on the cheap plan are the thing that pushes people up a tier.
Our note
Wave does invoicing and bookkeeping free and is enough for most creators. Pay for FreshBooks when the client count, the retainers or the proposals are the reason, not because it looks more serious.
Pick FreeAgent if the business is a UK sole trader or small limited company and self assessment or MTD VAT filing should happen from the same place as the bookkeeping. Check the bank-account route first: NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank and Mettle customers get the full package free for as long as they hold the account, which its own brief calls the only offer of that shape in the category.
Choose FreshBooks for client-based freelance billing anywhere outside the UK's tax system, especially by project or by hour. Lite is $23 a month for five clients, and the client count, not the feature list, is what forces most people up a tier rather than any UK-specific filing requirement.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | 1 |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.