Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Fourthwall is a full shop: merch, memberships and digital downloads on one checkout, free forever for physical products with no platform fee, and 5 percent on digital sales until Pro removes it at $15 a month. Printful is fulfilment only, no storefront of its own: no upfront cost and no percentage of sales, just a per-item cost for the blank, the print and shipping, with a Growth membership at $24.99 a month for up to a third off that cost. Fourthwall sells the shop; Printful sells the printing behind somebody else's.
A shop, memberships and merch on one page
Print on demand merch with no inventory to buy
Fourthwall | Printful | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $15 | Free |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Free |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Monthly or annual | Usage-based |
| Free trial | None | Not stated |
| API | Not stated |
A shop, memberships and merch on one page
Fourthwall is built for creators rather than adapted for them, and it shows in what is free: designing and selling print on demand products costs nothing, with the margin taken in the product price. Memberships and digital downloads run from the same shop. The free tier charges 5 percent on digital products, which the paid tier removes.
Our note
This is the closest thing to a default for a creator selling physical merch, mostly because the free tier is genuinely free rather than a trial with a fee attached. Pro pays for itself the moment digital sales pass about $300 a month.
Only on this side
Print on demand merch with no inventory to buy
Printful prints and ships when an order comes in, so nothing sits in your hallway. Quality is dependable and the catalogue is wide. Margins are thin unless you price above what feels comfortable.
Pick Fourthwall if there is no storefront yet and merch should sit alongside memberships and digital downloads under one brand. The free plan covers designing, selling and shipping physical products with no platform fee, and Pro at $15 a month only matters once digital sales are part of the mix.
Choose Printful if a storefront already exists elsewhere and the only thing missing is production and fulfilment behind it. There is no percentage of sales ever, only the per-item cost, and Growth at $24.99 a month is worth it past a certain order volume, since it is stated to become free once sales clear $12,000 a year.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Merch & Print on Demand, Memberships & Subscriptions | Merch & Print on Demand, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | YouTube, Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, Twitch, Discord | YouTube, Instagram, TikTok |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The margin is the thing to check before designing anything. Work out the per-item cost and what you would honestly pay for the shirt yourself, because print on demand is where a lot of creators discover their audience will not pay $35 for a tee.
Only on this side