Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Fourthwall runs merch, memberships and digital downloads from one shop, free forever for physical products with no platform fee, and 5 percent on digital sales until Pro removes it at $15 a month billed yearly. Patreon charges nothing to open but takes 10 percent of every payment a member makes, plus separate payment processing, with no monthly fee at any size. Fourthwall trades a flat fee for keeping more per sale; Patreon trades a percentage for an audience that already knows what the page is.
A shop, memberships and merch on one page
Membership tiers and posts for paying supporters
Fourthwall | Patreon | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $15 | Free |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Free |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Monthly or annual | Usage-based |
| Free trial | None | Not stated |
| API | Not stated |
A shop, memberships and merch on one page
Fourthwall is built for creators rather than adapted for them, and it shows in what is free: designing and selling print on demand products costs nothing, with the margin taken in the product price. Memberships and digital downloads run from the same shop. The free tier charges 5 percent on digital products, which the paid tier removes.
Our note
This is the closest thing to a default for a creator selling physical merch, mostly because the free tier is genuinely free rather than a trial with a fee attached. Pro pays for itself the moment digital sales pass about $300 a month.
Only on this side
Membership tiers and posts for paying supporters
Patreon is still where most audiences expect to pay a creator monthly, and that familiarity is worth something. Tiers, member-only posts, and now paid courses and shops. The platform fee is 10 percent of what you earn, before payment processing.
Pick Fourthwall for a creator selling merch alongside memberships who wants the fee structure to flatten out as sales grow. The free plan already covers designing, selling and shipping physical products with no platform cut, and Pro at $15 a month billed yearly removes the 5 percent fee that only applies to digital products.
Choose Patreon when audience familiarity is worth the ongoing cut, particularly on YouTube and in podcasting where naming it needs no explanation. The 10 percent fee applies to every payment, with no plan to upgrade out of it, so its own brief says that premium stops earning its keep once an audience would follow you anywhere else.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | 10% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Merch & Print on Demand, Memberships & Subscriptions | Memberships & Subscriptions, Community Platforms, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | YouTube, Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, Twitch, Discord | YouTube, Podcast, Discord |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Patreon costs more than Ko-fi and more than running memberships yourself, and what you buy with the difference is recognition: a listener who hears the word already knows what to do. Once an audience would follow you anywhere, that premium stops earning its keep.
Only on this side