Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Found is a business bank account with bookkeeping and a real-time tax estimate built in, free with no monthly fee, then Found Plus at $35 a month for imported transactions and interest on balances. FreshBooks is invoicing and accounting software, not a bank account, with no free tier: Lite starts at $23 a month for five billable clients after a 30-day trial. Found replaces the bank; FreshBooks sits on top of whichever one you already have.
Banking, bookkeeping and tax in one account
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
Found | FreshBooks | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $35 | From $23 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 30 days | 30 days |
| API |
Banking, bookkeeping and tax in one account
Found is a business account for self-employed people with the bookkeeping and the tax set-aside built into it, so expenses categorise themselves as they land and the quarterly estimate is on screen rather than in April. It invoices, pays contractors and files 1099s. The free plan has no monthly fee and no minimum balance, which is the reason to look at it before a bank.
Our note
Wave is free and does the books without touching the banking, so Found only makes sense if you want the account itself to do the categorising. Anybody happy with their existing bank should stay with Wave and keep the $35.
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
FreshBooks is double-entry accounting wearing a friendly invoice app, which is the right shape for somebody who bills a handful of clients and dreads January. Time tracking and expenses feed the invoice directly. Client limits on the cheap plan are the thing that pushes people up a tier.
Our note
Wave does invoicing and bookkeeping free and is enough for most creators. Pay for FreshBooks when the client count, the retainers or the proposals are the reason, not because it looks more serious.
Pick Found if opening a new business account is on the table and the tax set-aside should happen automatically as money lands. The free plan already includes invoicing, contractor payments and 1099 filing with no monthly fee, and it works only for US sole traders and single-member companies.
Choose FreshBooks to keep your existing bank and add proper double-entry invoicing on top of it, especially for billing clients by project or by hour. Lite is $23 a month for five clients, and the client count, not the feature list, is what pushes most people up a tier.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | 1 |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.