Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
FirstPromoter is Stripe-native affiliate tracking with a branded portal, banded by monthly affiliate revenue from $49 a month with no free tier. UpPromote installs straight into a Shopify store and tracks by coupon code as well as link, with a free plan covering one program and $3,000 of referral review a month before Growth starts at $29.99 plus 2 percent of referral sales. The decision turns on the storefront: Shopify sellers save on UpPromote, everyone else needs FirstPromoter.
Affiliate tracking and a brandable portal
Affiliate marketing built for Shopify stores
FirstPromoter | UpPromote | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $49 | From $29.99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Paid subscription | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | 14 days |
| API |
Affiliate tracking and a brandable portal
FirstPromoter is the other half of the Stripe affiliate duopoly, and the difference that matters is the portal: affiliates get a dashboard on your own domain with your CSS on it, rather than one that says somebody else's name. Tax forms and broadcast emails to promoters are built in. Setup asks more of you than Rewardful does.
Affiliate marketing built for Shopify stores
UpPromote installs into a Shopify store and turns customers into affiliates without anybody writing tracking code. Recruitment forms, coupon-based attribution and automated payouts all sit inside the admin a merchant already uses. The performance fee on top of the monthly price means a program that works costs more, which is either fair or annoying depending on the month.
Only on this side
Pick FirstPromoter for a subscription or software business selling outside Shopify, where a branded affiliate portal on your own domain and built-in tax form collection matter more than a free plan. Starter is $49 a month up to $5,000 of tracked affiliate revenue, with white labelling arriving at the $99 tier.
Choose UpPromote if the store runs on Shopify. The free plan alone covers one program and $3,000 of referral review a month, enough to test whether affiliates convert before paying anything. Growth then costs $29.99 a month plus 2 percent of the sales affiliates bring in, a cost that only appears once the program is working.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | 2% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Affiliate & Referral | Affiliate & Referral, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.