Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Expensify photographs a receipt and files it into an expense report, with scanning and payments free and no cap, then $5 a member a month once categorisation and approvals matter. Wave does invoices, receipts and double-entry bookkeeping for free, earning instead from card payments and a $19 a month Pro plan that automates receipt scanning. Expensify is built around the receipt. Wave is built around the whole set of books.
Expensify | Wave | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $5 | From $19 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | None |
| API | Not stated |
Receipt scanning and expense reports
Expensify photographs a receipt and reads the merchant, date and amount off it, then files the result into a report that somebody can approve. Scanning receipts and sending money stay free, and paying is about what happens after the scan: categorisation, approval rules and the accounting handoff. It pushes to QuickBooks and Xero, which is usually why a bookkeeper asks for it.
Our note
The free tier is the honest recommendation for one person, and it is unusually good. Pay for Collect at the point where somebody other than you needs to see the expenses, which in practice means a bookkeeper or a second person on the card.
Invoicing and bookkeeping that costs nothing
Wave does invoices, receipts and double-entry bookkeeping for free, and earns on card payments and on a paid tier that automates the parts you would otherwise do by hand. For a sole trader sending a dozen invoices a year it is the cheapest honest answer. Payroll and the advisor service exist in some countries only, which is worth checking before a whole tax year lives in it.
Pick Expensify if you have enough business spending that receipts pile up and enough structure that they get reimbursed or reconciled elsewhere. Scanning and payments stay free with no cap, and Collect at $5 a member a month adds approvals once a second person is involved.
Pick Wave if you are a sole trader or one-person company invoicing a handful of clients and want real bookkeeping without a monthly bill. Starter is genuinely free for invoicing and bookkeeping; Pro at $19 a month adds automation once that is worth paying for. Confirm payments and payroll are supported where you live first.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Free accounting that is genuinely accounting, which is rare enough to be worth the check it needs: confirm that payments and payroll are supported where you live before a tax year is built on it.
Only on this side