Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
DxO PhotoLab is bought once, from $149.99, and processes every raw file with noise reduction and lens-measured corrections. Topaz Labs is rented, from $12 a month for a single app or $69 a month for all seven, and exists to rescue a specific bad file: something soft, upscaled from too small, or shot at the wrong resolution. DxO is the everyday raw converter. Topaz is the tool you reach for when the source itself is the problem, on photos and on video, which DxO does not touch.
Raw processing bought once, not rented
Rescue footage and stills that fell short
DxO PhotoLab | Topaz Labs | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $149.99 | From $12 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | One-time purchase | Paid subscription |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | One-time purchase | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Data export |
Raw processing bought once, not rented
DxO PhotoLab is a raw converter with a reputation built on two things: noise reduction that recovers frames other software gives up on, and optical corrections measured from the actual lens rather than estimated. It is sold as a licence you own, which is why it keeps turning up in conversations about leaving Adobe. The library side is thinner than Lightroom's, and anybody whose workflow depends on catalogues should test that first.
Our note
Buy Elite or do not buy at all, because the noise reduction that makes this worth owning is the part held back from Essential. Against a subscription the maths favours DxO after roughly two years, assuming you skip at least one paid upgrade.
Rescue footage and stills that fell short
Topaz Labs makes the upscaling and cleanup models people reach for when the source is the problem: a soft photo, an old clip, footage shot at the wrong resolution for the delivery. The apps run locally rather than in a queue, which matters when the file is large and the deadline is not. They are sold separately or as one subscription covering all of them, so a photographer who only needs the image side is not paying for the video models.
DxO PhotoLab is the pick for a photographer processing every raw file who wants to pay once. Elite is $239.99 and holds the DeepPRIME noise reduction that recovers frames other converters give up on, a one-time cost against a subscription that starts paying for itself after roughly two years.
Topaz Labs is the pick for rescuing specific footage or stills that are nearly usable rather than for routine raw processing, and it covers video as well as photos, which DxO does not. Single apps start at $12 a month, and the case for the $69 a month Studio bundle only holds once you are reaching for two or three of its apps in the same week.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | macOS, Windows | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS |
|---|
| Covers | Photo Editing | Photo Editing, Video Editing |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Add up the single apps you would actually open before taking the bundle, since two apps is still cheaper than Studio. If the work is for a client or a company, the page is explicit that Pro is the tier that carries the commercial rights.
Only on this side