Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Dubsado and HoneyBook both take a client from a lead form through a proposal, a signed contract and a paid invoice, and the editorial verdict on HoneyBook itself says the two cover the paperwork equally well. What actually separates them is automation: Dubsado's workflows sit behind its $55 a month Premier plan, while HoneyBook's tiers are also split by automation and team seats rather than by whether the basics exist. HoneyBook adds payment processing inside the tool at a published 2.9 percent plus 25 cents. Anybody choosing between these two is really choosing how much automation to pay for.
Dubsado | HoneyBook | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $35 | From $29 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Paid subscription | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Yes |
Client workflows that run themselves
Dubsado automates the repeated half of client work: a lead form fires a workflow, which sends the proposal, chases the signature and issues the invoice on a schedule nobody has to remember. Projects and clients are uncapped on both plans, so the tier is about automation rather than about volume. Scheduling, workflows and public proposals all arrive on the second tier. Setting the workflows up is a real afternoon of work, and it is why people either love this or never finish configuring it.
Our note
Premier is the plan worth having, because the automated workflows are the reason to choose Dubsado over anything else and they are not on Starter. Budget a full day for setup before you count the saving, since the automation only pays back once it is actually configured.
Enquiry to contract to paid invoice
HoneyBook keeps a client from first enquiry through proposal, contract and payment in one place, which is aimed squarely at people who currently run that sequence across a form, a document and an invoicing app. Payments are taken inside it at a stated card rate, with a faster payout available for a fee. The plans differ on automation and team seats rather than on whether the basics are there. Anybody whose work is not project-shaped will be paying for a pipeline they do not have.
Dubsado is the pick for somebody who wants the deepest automation and is willing to spend a day building it. Starter is $35 a month with clients and projects uncapped, but the actual reason to choose Dubsado, its automated workflows, only arrives on Premier at $55.
HoneyBook is the pick for anybody who wants to try the whole flow properly before committing. Starter is $29 a month billed yearly, cheaper than Dubsado's entry tier, and a 60-day full refund gives two months to run real clients through it rather than judging it on a one-week trial. Payments run at 2.9 percent plus 25 cents inside the tool itself, which Dubsado does not publish a rate for.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Creator Finance | Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The 60-day refund is worth more than the trial, because two months is long enough to run real clients through it and a trial week is not. Compare against Dubsado on automation specifically, since that is the axis these two actually differ on and both cover the paperwork equally well.