Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Dribbble charges 2 to 5 percent, scaled by project size, and states it plainly on the pricing page. Upwork's freelancer fee ranges from 0 to 15 percent per contract, fixed once the contract begins and shown before a proposal is submitted, but with no single rate published, since it depends on the specific contract. Dribbble is a portfolio wall first, so the work is visible before you talk to anybody; Upwork's argument is volume, the largest pool of freelancers of the tools compared here.
Where designers show work and get hired
The freelance marketplace with the deepest bench
Dribbble | Upwork | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $150 | Not listed |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Data export |
Where designers show work and get hired
Dribbble is the portfolio wall the design world actually looks at, and the hiring side of it lets you post a job free and pay a small percentage only when a project completes. Subscriptions exist for anybody hiring often enough to want to approach people directly. Designers list their own hourly rates in public, which makes it one of the few places you can price a job before writing the brief.
Our note
The free tier with a small completion fee is the right entry for almost every creator, and the subscriptions only pay off for regular hiring. Where this beats a general freelance marketplace is that the work is on display before you talk to anybody.
Only on this side
The freelance marketplace with the deepest bench
Upwork is where a creator goes to hire an editor, a thumbnail designer or a virtual assistant without knowing one already, and where a lot of those people find their first clients. Volume is the argument for it. The service fee comes off the freelancer's side and varies per contract, which makes rate comparison harder than it looks.
Pick Dribbble to see finished design work before hiring, with a fee that is at least stated as a clear 2 to 5 percent range rather than a per-contract number you only learn later. Public hourly rates, $60 to $135, set expectations before a brief is even written, and the $150 or $300 a month tiers suit only frequent hiring.
Pick Upwork for the largest field of editors, designers, writers and assistants to choose from, with escrow, milestone payments and dispute resolution handling the transaction. The service fee is shown before a freelancer accepts, somewhere between 0 and 15 percent, but expect to compare offers rather than rely on one advertised number the way Dribbble publishes.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Hiring & Freelancers, Design & Graphics | Hiring & Freelancers, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Only on this side