Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
DoorFee sells access to a Discord server you already run, free at 10 percent or $28 a month for Pro's 2.5 percent. Patreon charges a flat 10 percent with no plan to upgrade into, but its own community chat can replace the Discord server altogether, and most audiences already know how to pay a creator there. DoorFee's free rate and Patreon's flat rate land on the same 10 percent, so the same roughly $375 a month threshold that makes DoorFee's Pro plan worth $28 applies just as well against Patreon.
Paid Discord memberships with a sales funnel
Membership tiers and posts for paying supporters
DoorFee | Patreon | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $28 | Free |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Free |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Monthly or annual | Usage-based |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Yes |
Paid Discord memberships with a sales funnel
DoorFee sells access to a Discord server and gives you the pages and email that sell it, which is the half most access tools leave to you. Payments run through Stripe and roles are granted and revoked automatically. The page builder, affiliate program and coupon codes are what separate it from a bare paywall bot.
Membership tiers and posts for paying supporters
Patreon is still where most audiences expect to pay a creator monthly, and that familiarity is worth something. Tiers, member-only posts, and now paid courses and shops. The platform fee is 10 percent of what you earn, before payment processing.
Our note
Patreon costs more than Ko-fi and more than running memberships yourself, and what you buy with the difference is recognition: a listener who hears the word already knows what to do. Once an audience would follow you anywhere, that premium stops earning its keep.
Only on this side
Pick DoorFee if the community is staying on Discord and the goal is selling into it harder: a built sales page, email marketing, an affiliate program and abandoned-checkout recovery, none of which Patreon offers. Once revenue passes roughly $375 a month, Pro's $28 a month and 2.5 percent beats Patreon's flat 10 percent by the same math DoorFee uses against its own free plan.
Pick Patreon for the audience familiarity alone: most supporters have paid a creator here before, which is worth something no Discord paywall can replicate cheaply. Its built-in community chat can replace a separate Discord entirely, and courses and a shop sell to the same audience already paying monthly, all for a flat 10 percent with no subscription to weigh against it.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | 2.5% of what you earn | 10% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Community Platforms, Memberships & Subscriptions, Monetization & Payments | Memberships & Subscriptions, Community Platforms, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Discord | YouTube, Podcast, Discord |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.