Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
DoorFee and LaunchPass both put a paywall in front of a Discord community, but only DoorFee builds the sales page, email marketing and abandoned-checkout recovery that actually sells the membership. LaunchPass is pure access control across Discord, Slack and Telegram, with a free tier whose rate its own pricing page states unclearly, or $29 a month for Premium at 3.5 percent plus Stripe's 2.9 percent and 30 cents on top. DoorFee's free plan takes 10 percent, dropping to 2.5 percent on the $28 a month Pro plan.
Paid Discord memberships with a sales funnel
Charge for access to a Discord or Slack group
DoorFee | LaunchPass | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $28 | From $29 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | 14 days |
| API | Not stated |
Paid Discord memberships with a sales funnel
DoorFee sells access to a Discord server and gives you the pages and email that sell it, which is the half most access tools leave to you. Payments run through Stripe and roles are granted and revoked automatically. The page builder, affiliate program and coupon codes are what separate it from a bare paywall bot.
Charge for access to a Discord or Slack group
LaunchPass puts a paywall in front of a chat community you already run, and hands out and removes the roles as people pay and lapse. It connects to Discord, Slack and Telegram, and the money arrives through your own Stripe account. It manages access rather than hosting anything, so the community stays where your members already are.
Our note
Sensible if your community is already somewhere and already wanted. Compare it against DoorFee if the community is on Discord, since DoorFee sells the membership as well as gating it, and against Circle or Skool if you were half thinking of moving anyway.
Pick DoorFee if the community is on Discord and needs selling, not just gating: the drag-and-drop sales page, built-in email marketing, an affiliate program and abandoned-checkout recovery are all things LaunchPass does not describe. Free takes 10 percent, and Pro at $28 a month drops that to 2.5 percent, worth it above roughly $375 a month in revenue by DoorFee's own math.
Pick LaunchPass if the community already exists and is not only on Discord, since it covers Slack and Telegram too and only manages access rather than selling it. Premium is $29 a month with a 14-day trial, though its 3.5 percent stacks with Stripe's 2.9 percent plus 30 cents, worth checking against DoorFee's stated rate before assuming it is cheaper.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | 2.5% of what you earn | 3.5% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Community Platforms, Memberships & Subscriptions, Monetization & Payments | Community Platforms, Memberships & Subscriptions, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Discord | Discord |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.