Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Donorbox is built for nonprofits and cause-driven campaigns: recurring donations, embeddable forms and donor records, free at 2.95 to 3.95 percent or $150 a month for Pro's 1.75 to 2 percent. Ko-fi is built for a creator collecting tips, memberships, commissions and shop sales from an audience, free with nothing taken from tips and 5 percent from everything else, or $12 a month to remove that cut. Donorbox says outright that a tip-collecting creator belongs on Ko-fi instead, and the fees back that up: no Donorbox tier ever reaches Ko-fi's 0 percent on a plain tip.
Donorbox | Ko-fi | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $150 | From $12 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | None | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Donation pages and recurring giving
Donorbox is built for nonprofits and reads that way, which is exactly right for a creator running a fundraiser or a cause and wrong for one collecting tips. Recurring donations, an embeddable form and donor records are the substance. Its free plan charges a higher percentage on each gift than the paid one.
Our note
Pro costs $150 a month and saves roughly 1.5 percent per donation, so it pays for itself somewhere around $10,000 a month in giving. Below that the free plan is the cheaper one, whatever the fee percentage looks like.
Only on this side
Tips, memberships and a shop with no platform cut
Ko-fi takes nothing from tips on the free plan, which no other platform of its size does. Memberships, commissions and digital downloads all work from the same page. It is lighter than Patreon in every direction, which is often the point.
Pick Donorbox for a registered nonprofit or a cause running a real fundraiser that needs receipts and donor records. Its free plan's 2.95 to 3.95 percent already covers recurring giving and an embeddable form, and Pro's $150 a month drops that to 1.75 to 2 percent plus the API. A creator collecting tips for their own work is not who this is built for, by Donorbox's own description.
Pick Ko-fi if the income is mostly one-off tips from an audience rather than cause donations, since nothing is taken from a tip on the free plan at all, a rate no Donorbox tier matches. Memberships, commissions and shop sales carry a 5 percent cut until Gold's $12 a month removes it. A large membership business will find Ko-fi thin next to dedicated membership software, since it stays lighter by design.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding, Monetization & Payments | Monetization & Payments, Memberships & Subscriptions, Tips & Donations |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | YouTube, Twitch |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The best free option for somebody who mostly gets tipped, and worth weighing against Patreon the moment memberships become the larger half of the income. Do the Gold arithmetic yourself rather than taking the upgrade prompt's word for it.
Only on this side