Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Donately charges 2 percent on its free plan, or a lower unstated rate on the $99-a-month plan, plus the usual Stripe or PayPal processing on top. Fundraise Up sells no plans at all: a flat 4 percent of every donation, plus processing, with every feature included regardless. Fundraise Up's checkout is built specifically to raise more per donor, with suggested upgrades and a monthly-giving nudge, and the company says most donors choose to cover the fee themselves at checkout. Donately's raw fee is lower. Fundraise Up's argument is that the checkout earns back the difference.
Donation forms with the fee written down
A donation checkout tuned to raise more
Donately | Fundraise Up | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $99 | Free |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Free |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Monthly or annual | Usage-based |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Donation forms with the fee written down
Donately puts donation forms and recurring giving on a site you already have, and states its own cut on the pricing page rather than after signup. Every plan carries every feature, so what the money buys is a lower fee rather than more product. It argues openly against the platforms that call themselves free and then take a fifth through donor-paid fees.
Our note
The arithmetic is straightforward: below about $60,000 raised a year the free plan is cheaper, and above it the monthly plan starts winning. Ask what the $99 plan's fee actually is before you sign, because the page never says.
A donation checkout tuned to raise more
Fundraise Up replaces a donation form with a checkout tuned to raise the amount given: suggested upgrades, a monthly nudge, wallets and a currency the donor recognises. It charges four percent of what comes in and sells no plans at all. The company's own figure is that most donors elect to cover that cost, which is the argument for a percentage over a subscription.
Buy Donately if the lowest stated fee is what matters and you want to run the donation form on a site you already control. Free carries a 2 percent platform fee, and prepaying $5,000 removes it entirely for up to $1 million raised, both cheaper on paper than Fundraise Up's flat 4 percent.
Buy Fundraise Up if a checkout tuned to raise more per donor is worth a higher headline fee, and having no plans to choose between is itself the appeal. The whole product is included at 4 percent of what comes in, and the company's own claim is that most donors cover that cost themselves at checkout. Ask for numbers from a comparable organisation before assuming that claim holds for your own audience, since a plain lower fee is a certainty and a better-converting checkout is not.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Everything, in an open format | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | 4% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding, Monetization & Payments | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Four percent on top of processing is more than a plain Stripe form costs, and the case for it is that the checkout raises more than it takes. Ask for the figures on comparable organisations before assuming that holds for your audience.