Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Donately states its cut on the page: 2 percent on the free plan, with Stripe or PayPal processing charged on top at their usual 2.2 to 2.9 percent. Donorbox folds platform and processing into one number instead, between 2.95 and 3.95 percent on its free Standard plan. Add Donately's two figures together and the real total lands at 4.2 percent or more, above Donorbox's all-in range even at its worst. Donorbox is built specifically for registered nonprofits; Donately works for any organisation taking donations on its own site.
Donately | Donorbox | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $99 | From $150 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | None |
| API | Yes |
Donation forms with the fee written down
Donately puts donation forms and recurring giving on a site you already have, and states its own cut on the pricing page rather than after signup. Every plan carries every feature, so what the money buys is a lower fee rather than more product. It argues openly against the platforms that call themselves free and then take a fifth through donor-paid fees.
Our note
The arithmetic is straightforward: below about $60,000 raised a year the free plan is cheaper, and above it the monthly plan starts winning. Ask what the $99 plan's fee actually is before you sign, because the page never says.
Donation pages and recurring giving
Donorbox is built for nonprofits and reads that way, which is exactly right for a creator running a fundraiser or a cause and wrong for one collecting tips. Recurring donations, an embeddable form and donor records are the substance. Its free plan charges a higher percentage on each gift than the paid one.
Our note
Pro costs $150 a month and saves roughly 1.5 percent per donation, so it pays for itself somewhere around $10,000 a month in giving. Below that the free plan is the cheaper one, whatever the fee percentage looks like.
Buy Donorbox if the true, all-in cost on the free plan matters more than the headline percentage. Its 2.95 to 3.95 percent already includes processing, while Donately's 2 percent platform fee is only the start of what a donation actually costs once Stripe or PayPal take their cut on top. Donorbox is also built for nonprofit specifics: donor records, receipts and, on Pro at $150 a month, crypto and stock donations.
Buy Donately if every feature on every plan matters more than the lowest all-in fee, since nothing here is held back for a dearer tier. The free plan works for any organisation, registered nonprofit or not, and prepaying $5,000 removes the platform fee entirely for up to $1 million raised. The $99 monthly plan lowers the fee from 2 percent, though the page never states to what, so ask before assuming it beats Donorbox's Pro plan on total cost.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Everything, in an open format | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding, Monetization & Payments | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.