Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
D-ID animates a single photo into a talking presenter and offers no permanent free plan, only a 14-day trial. Synthesia scripts a full AI presenter in over 160 languages and gives away 10 minutes of video a month forever, logo attached. That free allowance matches exactly what D-ID charges $4.70 a month for once the trial ends, so the real question is whether a Synthesia watermark is worth avoiding that bill.
D-ID | Synthesia | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $4.70 | From $19 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 14 days | None |
Talking avatar video made from a photo
D-ID animates a still portrait into a speaking presenter, driven by uploaded audio or by text, and it is the shortest path from a script to a face on screen. Translation into other languages runs from the same clip. Minutes are metered monthly and run out quickly, which is the constraint that decides the plan rather than the feature list.
Video from a script, read by an AI presenter
Synthesia turns typed words into a video of a person saying them, in a long list of languages, which is why it lives in training departments rather than on channels. For a creator it earns its place on explainer and localisation work, where reshooting in nine languages is not happening. Nobody is fooled into thinking the presenter is real.
Pick D-ID for the cheapest paid entry price and the simplest job: one still photo turned into a presenter. Lite is $4.70 a month billed annually for 10 minutes of video, the same monthly allowance Synthesia gives away free, but D-ID has no free tier of its own to fall back on once the 14-day trial ends.
Pick Synthesia if the presenter needs to speak languages you do not, since it names over 160 of them against a script. The free plan is a genuine 10 minutes a month forever, logo included, and Starter at $19 a month, or $14 billed yearly, removes it for a 120-minute yearly allowance, about 10 a month averaged out.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API | Yes | Yes |
|---|
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | AI Video & Voice | AI Video & Voice |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.