Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
D-ID animates a still photo into a talking presenter on video. Murf generates the voiceover itself, a script read by one of a couple hundred voices, with an editor that syncs the audio to a video track you already have. One makes the face. The other makes the voice. Only Murf keeps a permanent, if limited, free plan: 10 minutes with no downloads and no commercial rights.
D-ID | Murf AI | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $4.70 | From $19 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 14 days | None |
Talking avatar video made from a photo
D-ID animates a still portrait into a speaking presenter, driven by uploaded audio or by text, and it is the shortest path from a script to a face on screen. Translation into other languages runs from the same clip. Minutes are metered monthly and run out quickly, which is the constraint that decides the plan rather than the feature list.
Text to speech voiceovers for video and courses
Murf turns a script into a voiceover in a couple of hundred voices, with per-word emphasis and pacing controls that stop the read sounding flat. The editor syncs the audio against a video track, which is what makes it usable for course modules rather than just clips. Voice generation is metered in hours per year, so a weekly show eats a plan faster than the monthly price implies.
Only on this side
Pick D-ID if the job needs an actual face on screen animated from a photo, not just a voice track. There is no permanent free plan, only a 14-day trial, after which Lite runs $4.70 a month billed annually for 10 minutes of video.
Pick Murf if the job is a voiceover, not a presenter: a course narration or an explainer where a script needs a consistent voice synced to video you already made. The free plan never expires but blocks downloads and commercial use, so anything published needs Creator at $19 a month. That plan measures generation in hours per year, not per month, so a weekly show should divide the pool by 52 before choosing.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API | Yes | Yes |
|---|
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | AI Video & Voice | AI Video & Voice, Audio & Podcasting |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.