Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Contra's fee is capped and known upfront: $29 a payment free, $15 on the $29-a-month Pro plan, zero commission. Upwork's fee is a range the freelancer pays, 0 to 15 percent per contract, fixed once the contract starts but not knowable until then. On a $5,000 project Contra's capped fee is a rounding error next to Upwork's percentage; on a $200 one the math can reverse, so which side of that line your invoices sit on decides which is actually cheaper.
Freelance profiles and payments with no commission
The freelance marketplace with the deepest bench
Contra | Upwork | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $29 | Not listed |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Data export |
Freelance profiles and payments with no commission
Contra takes nothing out of what a client pays you, which is the whole pitch and a real difference from the marketplaces that take ten or twenty percent. What it charges instead is a flat platform fee per payment, capped, and a subscription that halves the cap. The work board is smaller than Upwork's, so most people arrive with a client already.
Our note
On a $5,000 project Contra's capped fee is a rounding error and Upwork's percentage is several hundred dollars. On a $200 one the maths reverses. Work out which side of that line your invoices sit on before picking.
The freelance marketplace with the deepest bench
Upwork is where a creator goes to hire an editor, a thumbnail designer or a virtual assistant without knowing one already, and where a lot of those people find their first clients. Volume is the argument for it. The service fee comes off the freelancer's side and varies per contract, which makes rate comparison harder than it looks.
Pick Contra for large invoices, since the fee is capped at $29 on the free plan or $15 on Pro no matter how big the payment. It also suits a freelancer who already has clients, since the job board is much thinner than Upwork's.
Pick Upwork if you need the volume: the largest pool of freelancers in this comparison, with escrow and a logged-time guarantee on hourly work. The service fee runs 0 to 15 percent per contract and is shown before you submit a proposal, so it can be priced into a small job rather than discovered afterward.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Their cut | None | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Hiring & Freelancers, Creator Finance | Hiring & Freelancers, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.