Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Both list $29 a month, and the number means something different on each side. Contra's $29 Pro plan is billed month to month with no commitment, halving its capped fee to $15 a payment. HoneyBook's $29 Starter plan only applies billed yearly, on top of a 2.9 percent plus 25 cents card fee on every payment taken. Contra is a zero-commission profile and payment page; HoneyBook is a full enquiry-to-invoice pipeline for project-shaped client work.
Freelance profiles and payments with no commission
Enquiry to contract to paid invoice
Contra | HoneyBook | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $29 | From $29 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Yes |
Freelance profiles and payments with no commission
Contra takes nothing out of what a client pays you, which is the whole pitch and a real difference from the marketplaces that take ten or twenty percent. What it charges instead is a flat platform fee per payment, capped, and a subscription that halves the cap. The work board is smaller than Upwork's, so most people arrive with a client already.
Our note
On a $5,000 project Contra's capped fee is a rounding error and Upwork's percentage is several hundred dollars. On a $200 one the maths reverses. Work out which side of that line your invoices sit on before picking.
Only on this side
Enquiry to contract to paid invoice
HoneyBook keeps a client from first enquiry through proposal, contract and payment in one place, which is aimed squarely at people who currently run that sequence across a form, a document and an invoicing app. Payments are taken inside it at a stated card rate, with a faster payout available for a fee. The plans differ on automation and team seats rather than on whether the basics are there. Anybody whose work is not project-shaped will be paying for a pipeline they do not have.
Pick Contra if you want month-to-month flexibility and a fee that is capped rather than a percentage of every card payment. The $29 Pro plan needs no annual commitment, and the platform fee never passes $15 a payment on it.
Pick HoneyBook if your work arrives as discrete projects that each need a proposal, a contract and an invoice in sequence. Starter's $29 a month requires paying yearly, and card payments cost 2.9 percent plus 25 cents on top, but the 60-day refund is long enough to run real clients through it before deciding.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Hiring & Freelancers, Creator Finance | Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The 60-day refund is worth more than the trial, because two months is long enough to run real clients through it and a trial week is not. Compare against Dubsado on automation specifically, since that is the axis these two actually differ on and both cover the paperwork equally well.