Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Contra never charges a commission: a flat fee capped at $29 a payment free, $15 on the $29-a-month Pro plan, no percentage either way. Guru always does, starting at 9 percent on its free Basic plan and falling only to 5 percent on the $49.95-a-month Executive tier, never to zero. On a $5,000 project, Guru's cheapest cut is still $250; Contra's fee cannot pass $29.
Freelance profiles and payments with no commission
Freelance marketplace with a lower job fee
Contra | Guru | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $29 | From $11.95 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Data export |
Freelance profiles and payments with no commission
Contra takes nothing out of what a client pays you, which is the whole pitch and a real difference from the marketplaces that take ten or twenty percent. What it charges instead is a flat platform fee per payment, capped, and a subscription that halves the cap. The work board is smaller than Upwork's, so most people arrive with a client already.
Our note
On a $5,000 project Contra's capped fee is a rounding error and Upwork's percentage is several hundred dollars. On a $200 one the maths reverses. Work out which side of that line your invoices sit on before picking.
Only on this side
Freelance marketplace with a lower job fee
Guru is an older freelance marketplace whose job fee drops as the membership tier rises, which is a different bet from the platforms that take a flat cut. Its SafePay escrow holds the client's money before work starts. Volume is well below Upwork's, so it works as a second source of leads rather than as the only one.
Pick Contra if you want a fee that stops growing once the invoice gets large. It is capped at $29 a payment on the free plan and $15 on Pro, so a big project keeps almost everything, and there is no percentage cut at any tier.
Pick Guru if you want a second source of leads beyond the big marketplaces and are willing to pay a percentage that falls with membership. Basic is free at a 9 percent job fee; Executive at $49.95 a month cuts that to 5 percent, and its own listing states that tier pays for itself around $1,250 of monthly earnings.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Their cut (they differ) | None | 9% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Hiring & Freelancers, Creator Finance | Hiring & Freelancers |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The break-even is arithmetic worth doing once. Executive costs $49.95 and saves four points against the free plan's 9 percent, so it pays for itself at roughly $1,250 of monthly earnings. Below that, Basic is the better plan.