Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Contra charges a flat platform fee capped at $29 a payment on the free plan, $15 on the $29-a-month Pro plan, and takes no commission at all. Dribbble is free to post too, but its fee is a straight 2 to 5 percent of the project, so it grows with the price of the job rather than staying capped. Contra suits a freelancer who already has clients and wants the paperwork handled. Dribbble is built around the portfolio, with designer rates published in public from $60 to $135 an hour.
Freelance profiles and payments with no commission
Where designers show work and get hired
Contra | Dribbble | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $29 | From $150 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
Freelance profiles and payments with no commission
Contra takes nothing out of what a client pays you, which is the whole pitch and a real difference from the marketplaces that take ten or twenty percent. What it charges instead is a flat platform fee per payment, capped, and a subscription that halves the cap. The work board is smaller than Upwork's, so most people arrive with a client already.
Our note
On a $5,000 project Contra's capped fee is a rounding error and Upwork's percentage is several hundred dollars. On a $200 one the maths reverses. Work out which side of that line your invoices sit on before picking.
Only on this side
Where designers show work and get hired
Dribbble is the portfolio wall the design world actually looks at, and the hiring side of it lets you post a job free and pay a small percentage only when a project completes. Subscriptions exist for anybody hiring often enough to want to approach people directly. Designers list their own hourly rates in public, which makes it one of the few places you can price a job before writing the brief.
Pick Contra if you already have clients and just need invoices, contracts and payment collection without losing a percentage on every job. The fee never passes $29 on the free plan or $15 on Pro, no matter how large the payment, which matters most on bigger invoices.
Pick Dribbble if you are hiring a designer and want to see finished work before writing a brief. Posting a job is free with a 2 to 5 percent completion fee that scales with project size, and public hourly rates from $60 to $135 let you set a budget before you talk to anyone. Subscriptions at $150 or $300 a month remove that fee entirely for frequent hiring.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export |
|---|
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Their cut | None | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Hiring & Freelancers, Creator Finance | Hiring & Freelancers, Design & Graphics |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The free tier with a small completion fee is the right entry for almost every creator, and the subscriptions only pay off for regular hiring. Where this beats a general freelance marketplace is that the work is on display before you talk to anybody.
Only on this side