Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Clockify and Toggl Track both track time with a real free plan underneath the paid tiers, and each one's own listing points at the other as the closest comparison. Clockify names a hard number, five users free with tracking left uncapped, then $3.99 a seat a month billed annually at Basic. Toggl Track calls its free plan free forever for a limited number of users without stating the number, then $9 a licence a month at Starter. The two differ most on the free plan, which is exactly where their own listings say to compare them.
Time tracking free for up to five people
Time tracking that stays free for a small team
Clockify | Toggl Track | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $3.99 | From $9 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | 30 days |
| API | Yes |
Time tracking free for up to five people
Clockify tracks time across projects and clients and leaves the tracking itself uncapped on the free plan, which covers up to five users. Paying adds the administrative parts a business needs rather than more tracking: entering time for other people, required fields, bulk edits and billable rates. Reports export in the shapes an accountant asks for. Each paid capability sits on a specific tier, so it is worth checking which one holds the feature that prompted the upgrade before choosing.
Our note
Ignore the tier the page leads with and check Basic first, because it is $1.50 a seat cheaper and carries most of what people upgrade for. Compare with Toggl Track on the free plan rather than the paid ones, since that is where the two differ most and where most teams will stay.
Time tracking that stays free for a small team
Toggl Track records where the hours went, across a browser extension, a desktop application and a phone, and it does the awkward part well: reminding somebody who forgot to start the timer and letting them fill the gap afterwards. The free plan covers a limited number of users with no time limit on it. Billable rates, project profitability and required fields are what the paid tiers add. It reports on time rather than turning it into an invoice, so billing still happens somewhere else.
Buy Clockify if you want to know exactly what the free plan covers before you rely on it: five users, unlimited tracking, stated plainly. Basic at $3.99 a seat a month billed annually is also the cheaper paid entry point of the two.
Buy Toggl Track if the day-to-day experience matters more than the free-plan ceiling: idle detection, reminders and filling in a forgotten timer afterward are what its own listing leads with. Read the Premium pricing footnote before committing, since $14 a month is a first-year rate that renews at $18, a jump Clockify's tiers do not carry.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android, Linux | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android, Linux |
|---|
| Covers | Creator Finance, Project Management | Creator Finance, Project Management |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Read the Premium footnote before budgeting, because $14 is a first-year price and $18 is what it becomes, which is a 29 percent rise nobody plans for. Clockify is the cheaper paid option if the free plan runs out on user count rather than on features.