Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Capture One is a manual raw editor you pay for outright or by the month, $18 a month or $349 once, and every edit is made by hand. Imagen trains a profile on your own past edits and applies it automatically to new shoots, priced at five cents a photo on a $7 monthly base after 1,000 free edits. The decision is really about workflow: hand-editing with full control against automated first-pass edits billed by volume.
RAW editing and tethering for professionals
Your own editing style applied by the photo
Capture One | Imagen | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $18 | From $7 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Paid subscription | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Monthly or annual | Usage-based |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated |
RAW editing and tethering for professionals
Capture One is what photographers move to when Lightroom's colour handling and tethered shooting stop being good enough. The colour editor works on ranges you define rather than on fixed sliders, and tethering to a camera is the feature its users will not give up. It is a professional tool with a professional learning curve, and it still sells a licence you buy once.
Our note
The perpetual licence is the reason to look here rather than at the subscription-only alternatives, and it is worth doing the arithmetic: $349 is about nineteen months of Pro. Buy the subscription if you want the newest camera support the week it ships, and the licence if you do not.
Only on this side
Your own editing style applied by the photo
Imagen trains a personal profile on a few thousand of a photographer's own edited images and then applies it to new shoots, priced per photo rather than per month. Culling, cropping and retouching are add-ons on the same meter. Paying by the photo suits an uneven year better than a subscription does, and the first thousand edits cost nothing.
Capture One is the tool for a photographer who wants to sit inside every frame: colour by range, layered local adjustments and tethered capture that feeds straight from the camera. None of that is automated, so the time spent is the real cost, on top of the $18 monthly fee or the $349 licence.
Imagen suits a photographer with an uneven year who would rather pay per shoot than hold a subscription through a slow month. The first 1,000 edits are free with no card, so testing costs nothing. Anybody editing continuously at high volume should run the numbers against the $129 flat plan before assuming the per-photo rate stays cheap.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | macOS, Windows, iOS | macOS, Windows |
|---|
| Covers | Photo Editing, Design & Graphics | Photo Editing |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Against Aftershoot the split is billing rather than quality: this charges per photo and that charges per year. Work out your annual volume and the answer falls out, and remember the beta-priced extras here are not permanent.