Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Buy Me a Coffee takes 5 percent from everything, tips, memberships and its small shop alike, with no plan to upgrade to. Ko-fi splits the two: tips arrive whole on its free plan, memberships and shop sales carry the same 5 percent, and Gold at $12 a month removes that cut entirely once memberships pass roughly $240 in a month. For anyone mostly collecting tips, Ko-fi's free plan already beats Buy Me a Coffee's flat rate before any subscription enters the picture.
One page for tips, memberships and sales
Tips, memberships and a shop with no platform cut
Buy Me a Coffee | Ko-fi | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | From $12 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Usage-based | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
One page for tips, memberships and sales
Buy Me a Coffee is the shortest path between a reader wanting to pay you and money arriving in your bank account. A page, a button, and no plan to choose. Memberships and a shop for one-off things sit on the same page, and the 5 percent it takes is cheap until you are earning enough that a percentage stops being cheap.
Our note
The right first step and rarely the last one. Once memberships pass a few hundred a month, run the 5 percent against what a fixed monthly plan elsewhere would cost, because that is when the simplicity starts having a price.
Only on this side
Tips, memberships and a shop with no platform cut
Ko-fi takes nothing from tips on the free plan, which no other platform of its size does. Memberships, commissions and digital downloads all work from the same page. It is lighter than Patreon in every direction, which is often the point.
Pick Ko-fi if tips are the main income, since its free plan keeps 100 percent of them where Buy Me a Coffee keeps 95. Once memberships or shop sales grow past roughly $240 in a typical month, Gold at $12 flat removes Ko-fi's 5 percent entirely, which a percentage-only platform like Buy Me a Coffee cannot match at any volume.
Pick Buy Me a Coffee if a single flat rate across tips, memberships and sales is simpler to reason about than choosing whether to upgrade. It is always 5 percent with never a subscription to weigh against it, which is one less decision for somebody who does not want to run the Gold arithmetic every few months.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | 5% of what you earn | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Tips & Donations, Digital Products & Storefronts, Memberships & Subscriptions, Monetization & Payments | Monetization & Payments, Memberships & Subscriptions, Tips & Donations |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | YouTube, Twitch |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The best free option for somebody who mostly gets tipped, and worth weighing against Patreon the moment memberships become the larger half of the income. Do the Gold arithmetic yourself rather than taking the upgrade prompt's word for it.
Only on this side