Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Blurb prints a photo book, magazine or zine one copy at a time, from $3.99 for a magazine and $12.00 for a trade or photo book, though paper stock and binding move the real price well past that headline. IngramSpark sets a title up for free and prints it into the catalogue that bookshops and libraries actually order from, charging per copy once trim size, page count and binding are specified. A text-only novel meant for retail is better served by a distributor, which is exactly what the second half of this comparison does.
Print books and magazines one copy at a time
Print a book into the retail supply chain
Blurb | IngramSpark | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $3.99 | Not listed |
| Pricing model (they differ) | One-time purchase | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | One-time purchase | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Print books and magazines one copy at a time
Blurb prints a single copy as readily as a hundred, which is what makes a photo book, a zine or a portfolio possible without an inventory. Layout happens in its own tools or in InDesign through a plugin. Paper stock and trim size move the unit price a long way, so the calculator is worth opening before the design is finished.
Our note
Paper stock moves the price further than page count does, with the same photo book running from $32 to $70. Work out the real cost at the binding you want before setting it against Lulu. The $12 headline is the cheapest possible configuration.
Only on this side
Print a book into the retail supply chain
IngramSpark is how an independent author gets a physical book into the catalogue bookshops and libraries actually order from, which Amazon's own printing does not do on the same terms. Setup costs nothing now, print is charged per copy, and the distribution reach is the reason to be here rather than the interface. Returns, discounts and trim sizes are decisions with real money attached, and the site is better at listing them than at explaining them.
Choose Blurb for a photo book, magazine or zine that needs to exist as an object rather than reach a shop shelf. Prices start at $3.99 for magazines and $12.00 for trade and photo books, though the same photo book can run from $32.00 to $70.00 depending on paper stock, so open the calculator before finishing the design. Volume discounts start at ten copies and reach 25 percent off at fifty.
Choose IngramSpark for a book meant to be ordered by real bookshops and libraries, which Blurb does not reach. Title setup is free, and print is charged per copy once the specification exists rather than as a flat price. A first-time author who only wants copies on Amazon has an easier and cheaper route through KDP instead of either of these.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, macOS, Windows | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing, Merch & Print on Demand | Self-Publishing |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Use the print cost calculator before finalising a page count, because trim size and paper choices move the unit cost enough to decide whether the book is profitable. Most authors list on both IngramSpark and KDP, using one for reach and the other for Amazon margin.