Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
BigCommerce is a hosted storefront starting at $29 a month for up to $30,000 in yearly sales, with no cut taken from any sale beyond the payment provider's own rate. Squarespace starts cheaper, at $19 a month for its Basic plan, but adds a 2 percent fee on store sales and 7 percent on digital content and memberships, both of which drop to 0 and 5 percent only on the $29 Core plan. The sticker price is not the real comparison. BigCommerce never takes a percentage, and Squarespace keeps 5 percent of membership revenue even on its pricier plan.
A hosted store priced against how much you sell
Templates that look designed out of the box
BigCommerce | Squarespace | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $29 | From $19 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Paid subscription |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Not stated | Annual only |
| Free trial | Not stated | 14 days |
| API | Yes |
A hosted store priced against how much you sell
BigCommerce is a hosted storefront whose tiers are drawn around sales volume rather than around features, so the question at signup is what a shop turns over rather than which capabilities it needs. Crossing a tier's ceiling moves the account up on its own, which is worth knowing before the first busy quarter. The platform adds no transaction fee of its own on top of the payment provider's. Anybody below the first threshold is paying for headroom they will not use for a while.
Our note
The automatic upgrade is the thing to plan for, because a good quarter moves you a tier without anybody approving it and the jump from $29 to $79 arrives at $30,000 of sales. Compare with Shopify on the card rate rather than the subscription, since that is where the two platforms actually differ.
Only on this side
Templates that look designed out of the box
Choose BigCommerce if memberships or digital content are a real part of the business, not a sideline. Core is $29 a month for up to $30,000 in yearly sales, and nothing is taken from a sale beyond the payment provider's ordinary rate. It is wrong for someone who just wants a good-looking site with a shop attached and no interest in the storefront's mechanics.
Choose Squarespace for a site that has to look considered with minimal ongoing effort. Basic is $19 a month but keeps 2 percent of store sales and 7 percent of digital content and memberships; Core at $29 drops those to 0 and 5 percent. Even Core still keeps a slice. It is wrong for a membership business at any real volume, since BigCommerce keeps none of that revenue at the same $29 price.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Digital Products & Storefronts, Monetization & Payments | Website Builders, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The 7 percent membership fee on Basic is the thing people discover after launching. If memberships are more than a sideline, either budget for Core from the start or run them somewhere that does not take a cut.
Only on this side