Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
BigCommerce and Shopify both start at $29 a month, but a different number actually separates them. BigCommerce's Core plan covers up to $30,000 in yearly sales before the account moves itself to a $79 tier, while Shopify's Basic plan has no sales ceiling and instead charges a card rate from 2.9 percent plus 30 cents that falls as the plan rises. BigCommerce adds no fee on top of whatever payment provider is used; Shopify adds a transaction fee to any gateway other than its own. The card rate, not the subscription, is where these two actually diverge.
A hosted store priced against how much you sell
A storefront whose card rate falls by plan
BigCommerce | Shopify | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $29 | From $29 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Paid subscription |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Not stated | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes | Yes |
A hosted store priced against how much you sell
BigCommerce is a hosted storefront whose tiers are drawn around sales volume rather than around features, so the question at signup is what a shop turns over rather than which capabilities it needs. Crossing a tier's ceiling moves the account up on its own, which is worth knowing before the first busy quarter. The platform adds no transaction fee of its own on top of the payment provider's. Anybody below the first threshold is paying for headroom they will not use for a while.
Our note
The automatic upgrade is the thing to plan for, because a good quarter moves you a tier without anybody approving it and the jump from $29 to $79 arrives at $30,000 of sales. Compare with Shopify on the card rate rather than the subscription, since that is where the two platforms actually differ.
A storefront whose card rate falls by plan
Shopify runs the shop itself, the checkout and the card processing, which is why its pricing has two numbers rather than one: a monthly plan and a card rate that drops as the plan rises. Selling on social, in person and through a site all report into the same catalogue and stock count. The plans are otherwise similar enough that most people choose on the card rate and the staff seats. Using a payment provider other than Shopify's own adds a transaction fee on top, so the cheap plan is not always the cheap option.
Choose BigCommerce if the plan should stay flat no matter which payment provider processes a card. Core is $29 a month for up to $30,000 in yearly sales, Growth is $79 up to $100,000, and neither adds a fee on top of the processor's own rate. It is wrong for anyone who wants card rates to fall as they grow, since BigCommerce prices tiers by sales volume rather than by a declining percentage.
Choose Shopify if card volume is high enough that a falling rate matters more than a flat fee. Basic starts at $29 a month with cards from 2.9 percent plus 30 cents, dropping to 2.7 percent on the $89 Grow plan and 2.5 percent on Advanced at $359. Every other gateway costs extra. It is wrong for anyone set on a payment provider other than Shopify Payments, because that choice adds a transaction fee on top of the plan.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Digital Products & Storefronts, Monetization & Payments | Monetization & Payments, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Work out the crossover between plans on your own card volume before choosing, because 0.2 percent of a busy month covers the difference between two tiers and most people pick on features instead. If a third-party gateway is a requirement rather than a preference, price that transaction fee in first, since it can cost more than the plan itself.