Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Big Cartel is a small storefront for artists and bands: a handful of editable themes, a free Gold plan, and paid tiers at $15 and $30 a month that cap how many products you list rather than how much you sell. Sellfy sells downloads, subscriptions and print-on-demand merchandise from one account, starting at $29 a month with no free plan, and its tiers cap annual sales instead of product count. Neither charges a cut of a sale. The choice comes down to what you are selling: a small catalogue of physical or digital items favours Big Cartel, and a mix of files, memberships and merchandise favours Sellfy.
Big Cartel | Sellfy | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $15 | From $29 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 7 days | 14 days |
A small shop for people who make things
Big Cartel has sold for artists and bands since before most of this category existed, and the product still reflects that: a handful of themes, a product limit rather than a transaction limit, and no upsell machinery. Setting up a shop takes an evening. The free plan is genuinely usable for a first release, and the paid ones are cheaper than any general storefront. Anybody who wants apps, subscriptions or a hundred variants should look elsewhere.
Our note
Count your products before choosing, because that single limit is the whole pricing model and it is easy to outgrow in a month if you sell variants as separate listings. For a catalogue that stays small this is cheaper than any general storefront in this directory and stays that way as sales grow.
A storefront for downloads and merch
Sellfy sells digital files, subscriptions and print-on-demand merchandise from one storefront, prints and ships the merchandise itself, and takes no cut of a sale. The plans are banded by annual sales instead, which is the trade: a flat fee that steps up as you grow rather than a percentage of everything you ever sell.
Choose Big Cartel if the catalogue is small and stays that way. The free Gold plan is a real shop, not a trial, and Diamond tops out at $30 a month with no fee taken from a sale. It is wrong for anyone selling subscriptions or a wide range of variants, since the model bills by product count and that limit arrives fast.
Choose Sellfy once the shop sells a mix of digital files, memberships and merchandise Sellfy prints itself. Starter is $29 a month for up to $10,000 in yearly sales, rising to $59 and $119 as volume grows, and none of the three tiers takes a percentage. There is no free plan here, only a 14-day trial.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Merch & Print on Demand, Digital Products & Storefronts | Digital Products & Storefronts, Merch & Print on Demand |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Against Gumroad the choice is a flat fee against a percentage of every sale, so Sellfy wins once the shop is turning over a few hundred a month and loses under that. If merchandise is part of the plan, the print-on-demand side settles it.