Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Big Cartel is a small shop for goods you hold and ship yourself: a handful of editable themes, no transaction fee, and tiers set by how many products you list rather than how much you sell. Fourthwall builds in print-on-demand, so physical merch costs nothing to design and list, plus memberships and digital downloads from the same page, with customer support handled for you. Both list an entry price of $15 a month, but Fourthwall's applies only when billed yearly. Big Cartel's does not require that commitment.
A small shop for people who make things
A shop, memberships and merch on one page
Big Cartel | Fourthwall | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $15 | From $15 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 7 days | None |
| API |
A small shop for people who make things
Big Cartel has sold for artists and bands since before most of this category existed, and the product still reflects that: a handful of themes, a product limit rather than a transaction limit, and no upsell machinery. Setting up a shop takes an evening. The free plan is genuinely usable for a first release, and the paid ones are cheaper than any general storefront. Anybody who wants apps, subscriptions or a hundred variants should look elsewhere.
Our note
Count your products before choosing, because that single limit is the whole pricing model and it is easy to outgrow in a month if you sell variants as separate listings. For a catalogue that stays small this is cheaper than any general storefront in this directory and stays that way as sales grow.
Only on this side
A shop, memberships and merch on one page
Fourthwall is built for creators rather than adapted for them, and it shows in what is free: designing and selling print on demand products costs nothing, with the margin taken in the product price. Memberships and digital downloads run from the same shop. The free tier charges 5 percent on digital products, which the paid tier removes.
Choose Big Cartel for a small catalogue you hold and ship yourself: prints, records, zines, anything a maker already has in hand. The free Gold plan ships a real shop, Platinum is $15 a month with no annual commitment required, and there is no transaction fee at any tier. It has no print-on-demand and no memberships, so anybody wanting either should look at Fourthwall instead.
Choose Fourthwall for merch without holding inventory: print-on-demand products cost nothing to design and list, with the margin built into the item price, and Fourthwall answers the customer service emails that come with shipping. Free forever covers physical sales, charging 5 percent only on digital downloads, removed on Pro at $15 a month billed yearly. Memberships run from the same shop, which Big Cartel does not offer at all.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Merch & Print on Demand, Digital Products & Storefronts | Merch & Print on Demand, Memberships & Subscriptions |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | YouTube, Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, Twitch, Discord |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
This is the closest thing to a default for a creator selling physical merch, mostly because the free tier is genuinely free rather than a trial with a fee attached. Pro pays for itself the moment digital sales pass about $300 a month.
Only on this side