Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Big Cartel prices a shop by how many products it lists, with sales themselves uncapped at every tier, including a genuinely free Gold plan for a first release. BigCommerce prices a shop by how much it sells, starting at $29 a month for up to $30,000 in trailing annual sales and moving itself up a tier automatically once that ceiling is crossed, with no free-forever plan, only an unspecified trial. The real choice is which variable you would rather be measured on: a small catalogue sold repeatedly, or growing revenue against a platform built to scale with it.
A small shop for people who make things
A hosted store priced against how much you sell
Big Cartel | BigCommerce | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $15 | From $29 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | 7 days | Not stated |
| API |
A small shop for people who make things
Big Cartel has sold for artists and bands since before most of this category existed, and the product still reflects that: a handful of themes, a product limit rather than a transaction limit, and no upsell machinery. Setting up a shop takes an evening. The free plan is genuinely usable for a first release, and the paid ones are cheaper than any general storefront. Anybody who wants apps, subscriptions or a hundred variants should look elsewhere.
Our note
Count your products before choosing, because that single limit is the whole pricing model and it is easy to outgrow in a month if you sell variants as separate listings. For a catalogue that stays small this is cheaper than any general storefront in this directory and stays that way as sales grow.
Only on this side
A hosted store priced against how much you sell
BigCommerce is a hosted storefront whose tiers are drawn around sales volume rather than around features, so the question at signup is what a shop turns over rather than which capabilities it needs. Crossing a tier's ceiling moves the account up on its own, which is worth knowing before the first busy quarter. The platform adds no transaction fee of its own on top of the payment provider's. Anybody below the first threshold is paying for headroom they will not use for a while.
Choose Big Cartel for a small, repeatable catalogue: an artist, a band or a maker selling a handful of things over and over, with no cap on how much any of them sell. The free Gold plan actually ships a shop, and Platinum at $15 a month is cheaper than BigCommerce's entry price. Count the products first, though, since that limit is the entire pricing model, and a wide catalogue outgrows it fast.
Choose BigCommerce for a shop that already knows roughly what it turns over and would rather pay against that than track a product count. Core is $29 a month for up to $30,000 in annual sales, nearly double Big Cartel's entry price, and the account upgrades itself automatically past that ceiling, up to Scale's $299 a month before a 0.9 percent overage applies. There is no free-forever plan, so a shop well under $30,000 a year is paying for headroom it does not need yet.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Merch & Print on Demand, Digital Products & Storefronts | Digital Products & Storefronts, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The automatic upgrade is the thing to plan for, because a good quarter moves you a tier without anybody approving it and the jump from $29 to $79 arrives at $30,000 of sales. Compare with Shopify on the card rate rather than the subscription, since that is where the two platforms actually differ.
Only on this side