Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
AWeber gives away a real free plan: 500 subscribers with automations, landing pages and forms attached, no deadline. Moosend gives away nothing permanent, only a 30-day trial of everything, then Pro starts at $7 a month billed annually with automation and landing pages already included rather than staged behind higher tiers. The choice is between a free tier that lasts and a paid tier that costs less once you are paying anyway.
Email marketing with a free plan that lasts
Email marketing with automation on every plan
AWeber | Moosend | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $12.50 | From $7 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 14 days | 30 days |
Email marketing with a free plan that lasts
AWeber has been sending newsletters since before most of its competitors existed, and it shows in both directions: the deliverability is dependable and the interface is dated. The free plan runs to 500 subscribers with automations included, which is more than most rivals give away. Its ecommerce feature charges a small percentage of each sale on the cheaper plans.
Our note
AWeber's free plan holds 500 subscribers with the automations switched on, twice what MailerLite gives away, so it suits a list that needs sequences before it needs size. The editor is the part that shows its age.
Email marketing with automation on every plan
Moosend puts automation, segmentation and landing pages on its single paid tier rather than staging them across four, so the price rises with list size instead of with features. Subscribers are the meter. A thirty-day trial runs without a card, which is longer than most of this category offers and long enough to migrate a list and actually send. There is no permanent free plan underneath it, so the trial is a deadline rather than a fallback.
Take AWeber if a free plan has to be permanent rather than a countdown. Free holds 500 subscribers with automations, landing pages, forms and web push already switched on, and stays free for as long as the list does not outgrow that. The tradeoff is an interface that shows its age, and an ecommerce fee of 1.0 percent on that free plan.
Take Moosend if you are ready to pay and just want the lowest bill for everything included. Pro is $7 a month billed annually, or $9 paid monthly, with automation, segmentation and landing pages on that single tier rather than gated across four. There is no free plan underneath it, only a 30-day trial with no card required, and the vendor states the account and data survive once the trial ends, reactivated by upgrading or buying credits. Use the full 30 days to migrate a real list, not a test one.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API | Yes | Yes |
|---|
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | 0.6% of what you earn | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Email Marketing & Automation, Newsletter & Email | Email Marketing & Automation, Newsletter & Email |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The absence of a free plan is the thing to notice, because everything else here is priced like a tool that has one. Take the trial seriously and migrate a real list during it, since a half-hearted look will not tell you whether the automation is what you needed.