Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
AWeber's free plan holds 500 subscribers but includes automations, landing pages and forms from day one. EmailOctopus is plainer, and its free plan holds 2,500 subscribers, five times as many, but carries EmailOctopus branding and reports that expire after 30 days. The choice is between a smaller free list with more built in and a bigger free list with less.
Email marketing with a free plan that lasts
Email for lists that outgrew a free plan
AWeber | EmailOctopus | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $12.50 | From $9 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 14 days | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Email marketing with a free plan that lasts
AWeber has been sending newsletters since before most of its competitors existed, and it shows in both directions: the deliverability is dependable and the interface is dated. The free plan runs to 500 subscribers with automations included, which is more than most rivals give away. Its ecommerce feature charges a small percentage of each sale on the cheaper plans.
Our note
AWeber's free plan holds 500 subscribers with the automations switched on, twice what MailerLite gives away, so it suits a list that needs sequences before it needs size. The editor is the part that shows its age.
Email for lists that outgrew a free plan
EmailOctopus is deliberately plain: lists, campaigns, a drag-and-drop editor and simple automations, at a price that undercuts the platforms with more features than a newsletter needs. The free tier goes to 2,500 subscribers with the company's branding on every send. Reports only go back 30 days until you pay, which is the free plan's real limit rather than the subscriber count.
Pick AWeber if automations matter before the list is large. They are included on the free plan up to 500 subscribers, alongside landing pages, forms and a link-in-bio page.
Pick EmailOctopus if the list is what is growing and the automations can wait. Free runs to 2,500 subscribers and 10,000 emails a month, five times AWeber's cap, though every send carries EmailOctopus branding and reports vanish after 30 days until you upgrade. Pro removes both starting at $9 a month billed yearly, cheaper than AWeber's $12.50 Lite plan.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | 0.6% of what you earn | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Email Marketing & Automation, Newsletter & Email | Email Marketing & Automation, Newsletter & Email |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Against MailerLite this comes down to the free tier: 2,500 subscribers here against 250 there, with fewer features in return. Start here if the list is the thing growing and the automations can wait.