Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Asana tracks tasks across list, board, timeline and calendar views, free for up to two collaborators and then $10.99 per user a month billed annually. Basecamp organises work as projects with message boards, to-do lists and chat, free for one project and then either $15 per user a month or a flat $299 a month for unlimited users on Pro Unlimited. The bill is the real difference. Asana charges per seat as a team grows. Basecamp stops charging per seat entirely once you cross into Pro Unlimited, and it never bills clients or guests on either plan.
Task and project tracking for small teams
Flat pricing that stops caring how big you get
Asana | Basecamp | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $10.99 | From $15 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | 30 days |
| API | Yes |
Task and project tracking for small teams
Asana is a work tracker built around who owes what by when, with list, board, timeline and calendar views of the same tasks. For a creator with an editor, a designer and a publishing schedule, it replaces the group chat where deadlines go to die. The free plan caps collaborators at two, which is the line most small teams cross first.
Our note
The free plan stops at two collaborators, which is the number to check before anything else. ClickUp and Airtable both give a small team more room for nothing, so Asana starts earning its price at the third seat rather than the first.
Flat pricing that stops caring how big you get
Basecamp organises work as projects containing message boards, to-do lists, files and a chat room, and it has stayed close to that shape for twenty years. The reason to choose it is the pricing rather than the features: above a certain team size it is one flat monthly fee for everybody, and clients and guests are never billed at all. That makes it unusually easy to reason about for a studio that grows and shrinks. The free package runs a single project, which is a real way to test it rather than a demo.
Choose Asana if the value is in four views on one task list, timeline included, and your team stays small enough that per-seat pricing does not sting. Starter is $10.99 per user a month billed annually, and the free plan covers a creator plus one contractor at no cost.
Choose Basecamp if you run a studio with clients constantly in the mix, since guests and clients are never billed on any plan. Above a certain headcount, Pro Unlimited is a flat $299 a month for everybody, so the bill stops tracking team size at all. Basecamp is the wrong pick for a team that wants Asana's four views on one task list, since its own structure is boards and message threads instead.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Project Management | Project Management, Hiring & Freelancers |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Only on this side