Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Anedot charges no monthly fee and takes 3.3 percent plus 30 cents from a registered charity, or 4.0 percent from anyone else, with unlimited pages and no donor database attached. Donorbox is free with fees between 2.95 and 3.95 percent, or $150 a month for a Pro plan that drops fees to 1.75 to 2 percent and adds an API, crypto donations and receipt whitelabeling. The gap is what each one is trying to be. Anedot is collection at the lowest published rate; Donorbox is a paid upgrade path toward donor records and recurring-giving tools.
Anedot | Donorbox | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | From $150 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Usage-based | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | None |
| API | Not stated |
Donation pages with no monthly fee at all
Anedot charges nothing to run donation pages, event pages and lead forms, and takes its cut from the processing rate instead, which makes it one of the few options where a quiet month costs nothing. Team members, pages and transactions are all uncapped. Registered charities pay a lower rate than everybody else, and both rates are published rather than quoted. Nothing here is a donor database, so an organisation wanting segmentation and reporting will end up paying for that separately.
Our note
Push donors towards ACH if your average gift is large, because 0.3 percent against 3.3 percent is the biggest saving available here and most platforms do not offer the choice. Compare the standard 4.0 percent rate carefully if you are not a registered charity, since that is above what several subscription platforms charge once their monthly fee is spread over real volume.
Donation pages and recurring giving
Donorbox is built for nonprofits and reads that way, which is exactly right for a creator running a fundraiser or a cause and wrong for one collecting tips. Recurring donations, an embeddable form and donor records are the substance. Its free plan charges a higher percentage on each gift than the paid one.
Choose Anedot for a registered charity that wants the lowest published rate and nothing else to manage: 3.3 percent plus 30 cents on cards, or 0.3 percent plus 30 cents on ACH for a donor willing to use a bank transfer instead of a card.
Choose Donorbox once recurring giving, donor records and an API matter more than the rate. Its free plan's 2.95 to 3.95 percent is close to Anedot's non-charity rate, but the $150-a-month Pro plan pays for itself around $10,000 a month in giving by dropping fees to 1.75 to 2 percent, and adds stock donations and receipt whitelabeling on top.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Tips & Donations | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Pro costs $150 a month and saves roughly 1.5 percent per donation, so it pays for itself somewhere around $10,000 a month in giving. Below that the free plan is the cheaper one, whatever the fee percentage looks like.
Only on this side