Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Anedot charges no monthly fee at all and takes its cut from the transaction: 3.3 percent plus 30 cents for a registered 501(c)(3), 4.0 percent plus 30 cents for everyone else. Donately's free plan charges a flat 2 percent platform fee on top of standard card processing, and a $99-a-month plan lowers that fee further, though the page does not say by how much. The choice turns on volume. Anedot never charges for a quiet month, and Donately's monthly plan only pays for itself once donations are large enough to make 2 percent real money.
Anedot | Donately | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | From $99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Usage-based | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Yes |
Donation pages with no monthly fee at all
Anedot charges nothing to run donation pages, event pages and lead forms, and takes its cut from the processing rate instead, which makes it one of the few options where a quiet month costs nothing. Team members, pages and transactions are all uncapped. Registered charities pay a lower rate than everybody else, and both rates are published rather than quoted. Nothing here is a donor database, so an organisation wanting segmentation and reporting will end up paying for that separately.
Our note
Push donors towards ACH if your average gift is large, because 0.3 percent against 3.3 percent is the biggest saving available here and most platforms do not offer the choice. Compare the standard 4.0 percent rate carefully if you are not a registered charity, since that is above what several subscription platforms charge once their monthly fee is spread over real volume.
Donation forms with the fee written down
Donately puts donation forms and recurring giving on a site you already have, and states its own cut on the pricing page rather than after signup. Every plan carries every feature, so what the money buys is a lower fee rather than more product. It argues openly against the platforms that call themselves free and then take a fifth through donor-paid fees.
Choose Anedot if donations arrive unevenly or the organisation is a registered charity. There is no subscription to carry through a quiet month, and the charity rate of 3.3 percent plus 30 cents already covers processing, while Donately's flat 2 percent still has Stripe or PayPal's 2.2 to 2.9 percent added on top of it.
Choose Donately if the organisation is already raising steadily and wants the donation form embedded on its own Webflow, Squarespace or WordPress site rather than hosted elsewhere. Prepaying $5,000 removes the platform fee entirely for up to $1 million raised. Below about $60,000 raised a year, Donately's own numbers say its free plan beats the $99 monthly one anyway.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Everything, in an open format |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Tips & Donations | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The arithmetic is straightforward: below about $60,000 raised a year the free plan is cheaper, and above it the monthly plan starts winning. Ask what the $99 plan's fee actually is before you sign, because the page never says.
Only on this side