Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Amazon KDP is free to publish and pays up to 70 percent royalty between $2.99 and $12.99 on its own store. StreetLib charges $99 a year or $299 once for distribution beyond Amazon, and states its cut up front: the author keeps 85 percent of net revenue on every sale, whichever store it comes from. The decision is whether a flat published share across many stores is worth more than KDP's free, band-restricted rate on just one.
Self-publish to Kindle and keep 70 percent
Ebook distribution that states its cut up front
Amazon KDP | StreetLib | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | From $99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Paid subscription |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing (they differ) | Usage-based | Annual only |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
Self-publish to Kindle and keep 70 percent
Kindle Direct Publishing is the shortest route from a finished manuscript to a book somebody can buy, and the audience on the other side of it is the reason most self-published authors start here. Publishing costs nothing. The royalty band is the thing to read before setting a price, because it changes what you earn by half.
Our note
The price band is the decision, not the cover. Pricing at $14.99 instead of $12.99 cuts the royalty rate in half, and a lot of first books are priced into the wrong side of it by accident.
Ebook distribution that states its cut up front
StreetLib distributes ebooks and audiobooks to the stores an author cannot easily reach one by one, and is unusual in charging for the service rather than only taking a share. It publishes what it keeps, which is more than most aggregators do. For an author already selling through Amazon alone, the question is whether the other stores add up to more than the fee.
Our note
Stay on Amazon KDP if Kindle readers are the whole plan. Publishing is free, and 70 percent inside the $2.99 to $12.99 band is hard to beat with no fee attached at all.
Add StreetLib once reach past Amazon is worth paying for: $99 a year, or $299 once for a backlist that sells slowly and should not carry an annual renewal. Its 85 percent share is published rather than buried in a contract, and audiobooks distribute alongside ebooks from the same account. There is no monthly option, so it is a yearly or one-time decision, not a small trial.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | 30% of what you earn | 15% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Against Draft2Digital, which charges nothing upfront and takes a larger share, this is the better arithmetic for anybody already selling. Work out your annual net revenue: below roughly a thousand dollars a year, paying nothing and giving up more is cheaper.