Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Amazon KDP is free to publish and pays up to 70 percent royalty between $2.99 and $12.99 on its own store. PublishDrive charges a subscription instead of a percentage: free for one book, then $13.99 a month for three books and 50-plus retailers including Amazon, with 0 percent revenue share on every tier. The choice comes down to volume. A subscription with no cut only wins once a title earns enough that the fixed fee beats the percentage a store would otherwise keep.
Self-publish to Kindle and keep 70 percent
Ebook distribution with no cut of royalties
Amazon KDP | PublishDrive | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | From $13.99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Usage-based | Annual only |
| Free trial | Not stated | None |
| API | Not stated |
Self-publish to Kindle and keep 70 percent
Kindle Direct Publishing is the shortest route from a finished manuscript to a book somebody can buy, and the audience on the other side of it is the reason most self-published authors start here. Publishing costs nothing. The royalty band is the thing to read before setting a price, because it changes what you earn by half.
Our note
The price band is the decision, not the cover. Pricing at $14.99 instead of $12.99 cuts the royalty rate in half, and a lot of first books are priced into the wrong side of it by accident.
Ebook distribution with no cut of royalties
PublishDrive charges a subscription and then takes nothing from sales, which inverts the usual aggregator deal and pays off the moment a book sells steadily. One upload reaches over 50 retailers and a library network most authors never get near. Plans are capped by title count, so a back catalogue costs more than a single book does.
Our note
Draft2Digital takes 10 percent and costs nothing up front, so it wins on a book that barely sells and loses on one that does. Work out your annual royalties before choosing: the crossover for the Starter plan is somewhere around $1,700 a year in sales.
Stay on Amazon KDP alone for a first book, or for anything selling only to Kindle readers. It costs nothing to publish, and the 30 percent Amazon keeps inside the price band, or 65 percent outside it, is not a bad deal for a title that has not proven it sells yet.
Move to PublishDrive once several titles are selling steadily across more than one store. Zero percent revenue share on every plan means the subscription is the entire cost, and 50-plus retailers plus 240,000 libraries from one upload replace a separate account at each. Free covers one book. Anything past three titles needs the $20.99 Standard tier, so a back catalogue costs more here than a single book does.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | 30% of what you earn | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.