Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Amazon KDP puts a book in the Kindle store for free, with a 70 percent royalty between $2.99 and $12.99, in exchange for exclusivity if you join KDP Select. Kobo Writing Life is also free and pays up to 70 percent, but asks for nothing in return: publish here and everywhere else at once, stated on the page rather than buried in terms. The real pairing is not either-or. It is whether KDP Select's exclusivity is worth giving up the free second shelf Kobo offers.
Self-publish to Kindle and keep 70 percent
Publish to Kobo and keep your rights
Amazon KDP | Kobo Writing Life | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | Free |
| Pricing model | Free | Free |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Usage-based | Usage-based |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Data export |
Self-publish to Kindle and keep 70 percent
Kindle Direct Publishing is the shortest route from a finished manuscript to a book somebody can buy, and the audience on the other side of it is the reason most self-published authors start here. Publishing costs nothing. The royalty band is the thing to read before setting a price, because it changes what you earn by half.
Our note
The price band is the decision, not the cover. Pricing at $14.99 instead of $12.99 cuts the royalty rate in half, and a lot of first books are priced into the wrong side of it by accident.
Only on this side
Publish to Kobo and keep your rights
Kobo Writing Life puts a book in front of Rakuten Kobo's readers, and through OverDrive into public libraries, without asking for exclusivity in return. Publishing costs nothing and the author sets the price. For anybody whose first shelf is Amazon this is the obvious second one, and the library route is the part Amazon has no answer to.
Stay KDP-only, with Select turned on, if the Kindle Unlimited page-read money matters more than a second store. Exclusivity is the price of admission. Select cannot run alongside any other retailer, Kobo included.
Add Kobo Writing Life the moment Select is off the table, because it costs nothing, keeps the same up to 70 percent royalty band, and reaches Rakuten Kobo's readers plus public libraries through OverDrive, a route Amazon does not offer at all. Most authors who are not chasing page reads should treat this as a free second channel rather than a decision between the two.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Their cut | 30% of what you earn | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts | Self-Publishing |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
There is no reason not to be on it if you are already selling elsewhere, since it costs nothing and asks for nothing in return. Treat it as a second channel rather than a first: the reader numbers are Amazon's game, and the library route is where Kobo earns its place.