Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Amazon KDP prints paperbacks on demand and sells them where Amazon's own readers already are, for free with a 70 percent royalty between $2.99 and $12.99. IngramSpark prints into the same wholesale catalogue that bookshops and libraries actually order from, also free to set up, with print charged per copy by trim size and binding rather than a flat rate. These are not really rivals. Most independent authors run both, one for Amazon's own margin and the other for reach a Kindle-only book cannot get.
Self-publish to Kindle and keep 70 percent
Print a book into the retail supply chain
Amazon KDP | IngramSpark | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | Not listed |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Usage-based | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
Self-publish to Kindle and keep 70 percent
Kindle Direct Publishing is the shortest route from a finished manuscript to a book somebody can buy, and the audience on the other side of it is the reason most self-published authors start here. Publishing costs nothing. The royalty band is the thing to read before setting a price, because it changes what you earn by half.
Our note
The price band is the decision, not the cover. Pricing at $14.99 instead of $12.99 cuts the royalty rate in half, and a lot of first books are priced into the wrong side of it by accident.
Only on this side
Print a book into the retail supply chain
IngramSpark is how an independent author gets a physical book into the catalogue bookshops and libraries actually order from, which Amazon's own printing does not do on the same terms. Setup costs nothing now, print is charged per copy, and the distribution reach is the reason to be here rather than the interface. Returns, discounts and trim sizes are decisions with real money attached, and the site is better at listing them than at explaining them.
Use Amazon KDP alone if Amazon is the entire plan: a Kindle ebook, or a paperback sold only through Amazon's own listing, nothing owed to a bookshop. It costs nothing to publish and pays the best margin inside its price band.
Add IngramSpark the moment a bookshop, a library or a store outside Amazon needs to order the book, since Ingram's catalogue is the one they actually use. Run the print cost calculator first. Trim size, paper and binding move the per-copy cost enough to decide whether the wholesale discount still leaves a margin, and most independent authors end up listing the same title on both.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export |
|---|
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Their cut | 30% of what you earn | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Self-Publishing, Digital Products & Storefronts | Self-Publishing |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Use the print cost calculator before finalising a page count, because trim size and paper choices move the unit cost enough to decide whether the book is profitable. Most authors list on both IngramSpark and KDP, using one for reach and the other for Amazon margin.