Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Aftershoot and Imagen do close to the same job: both learn a photographer's own editing style and apply it to a new shoot. The real difference is how each one bills for it. Aftershoot sells yearly bands by image volume, from $120 with a 30-day trial. Imagen charges $0.05 a photo on a $7 monthly base, after 1,000 free edits with no card, so a quiet month costs almost nothing. Work out a rough annual volume and the cheaper one falls out of the arithmetic.
Culls and edits a wedding shoot overnight
Your own editing style applied by the photo
Aftershoot | Imagen | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $120 | From $7 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Annual only | Usage-based |
| Free trial | 30 days | Not stated |
| API |
Culls and edits a wedding shoot overnight
Aftershoot learns from edits a photographer has already made and then applies that style to a whole shoot, after throwing out the blinks, the blurs and the duplicates. For anyone delivering thousands of frames a wedding, culling is the job it saves most of. Plans are sold by how many images a year you put through it, and everything exports back into Lightroom or Capture One rather than replacing them.
Our note
The thirty days matter more here than on most trials, because the tool has to learn your style before the output is worth judging. Feed it a whole delivered wedding early rather than a handful of frames, or the trial will tell you nothing.
Your own editing style applied by the photo
Imagen trains a personal profile on a few thousand of a photographer's own edited images and then applies it to new shoots, priced per photo rather than per month. Culling, cropping and retouching are add-ons on the same meter. Paying by the photo suits an uneven year better than a subscription does, and the first thousand edits cost nothing.
Pick Aftershoot if your year is heavy but predictable, mostly weddings delivering thousands of frames each. A yearly band from $120 is simple to budget against a known season, and the 30-day trial is long enough to feed it a whole delivered wedding and judge the style match properly.
Pick Imagen if your year is uneven, with quiet months you do not want to pay full price through. Five cents a photo on a $7 base means a slow month costs next to nothing, and 1,000 free edits with no card let you compare its output against your own before spending anything. Photographers editing continuously at high volume should still check the $129 monthly plan against the per-photo rate, since usage billing is not always the cheaper choice at full-time volume.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Yes |
| Data export | Everything, in an open format | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | macOS, Windows | macOS, Windows |
|---|
| Covers | Photo Editing | Photo Editing |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Against Aftershoot the split is billing rather than quality: this charges per photo and that charges per year. Work out your annual volume and the answer falls out, and remember the beta-priced extras here are not permanent.