Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
99designs runs a paid contest: post a brief and a prize from $249 to $1,050, then choose a winner from however many designers submit work. Upwork is the freelance marketplace with the largest pool of editors, designers, writers and assistants, free to join, where a freelancer's service fee runs 0 to 15 percent per contract and is shown before a proposal goes in. The difference is speculative work judged as finished pieces against one prize, or a person you interview and pay through escrow.
Run a design contest, pick the entry you like
The freelance marketplace with the deepest bench
99designs | Upwork | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $249 | Not listed |
| Pricing model (they differ) | One-time purchase | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | One-time purchase | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
Run a design contest, pick the entry you like
99designs, now owned by Vista, runs the contest model: post a brief and a prize, get dozens of submissions from designers around the world, pay only the one you choose. For a logo or a channel identity that is a lot of directions to look at for a fixed price. The people who dislike it dislike it on principle, because everybody who does not win works for nothing.
Our note
The objection to the contest model is real and worth stating: everybody who does not win works unpaid. If that sits badly, Dribbble and Contra both put you in touch with a designer who is paid for the work they do.
Only on this side
The freelance marketplace with the deepest bench
Upwork is where a creator goes to hire an editor, a thumbnail designer or a virtual assistant without knowing one already, and where a lot of those people find their first clients. Volume is the argument for it. The service fee comes off the freelancer's side and varies per contract, which makes rate comparison harder than it looks.
Pick 99designs when the job is a logo or a channel identity and you want to see dozens of finished directions rather than interview anybody. The prize, $249 to $1,050 by package, is the entire cost, backed by a stated money-back guarantee. Nobody who does not win gets paid, which is the real objection to weigh before posting.
Pick Upwork for anything broader, an editor, a thumbnail designer, a virtual assistant, when you want the largest pool to choose from and the payment side handled by escrow. The freelancer's service fee runs 0 to 15 percent per contract, shown before a proposal is submitted and fixed once the contract begins, so build it into the rate you agree on. Someone with an editor they already trust is giving up a percentage for a marketplace they no longer need.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Hiring & Freelancers, Design & Graphics, Thumbnails & Cover Art | Hiring & Freelancers, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Only on this side